My Heart Reacted to Death

Almost every day we are reminded of death. Deaths of people not far from where we live, deaths of people on the news, deaths of people in conversations we overhear. But unfortunately, I mean as far as I’m concerned I do not get sad and many times I have asked myself if I was stone hearted.

Yesterday I took the bus to come back home and the driver put on loudly “See You Again” which is a tribute song to former actor Paul Walker who died on November 2013. Then I started thinking about him even though he was not an actor I particularly loved – I mean I was not a fan.

As my thoughts became deeper, my heart suddenly went into an emotional pitch and it was as if it finally reacted to the effects the death of someone usually does to those who are still alive. That night I woke up and still kept on thinking, I found myself doing research on the death of Paul Walker who actually died in a car accident because of high speed while coming back from a charity event.

Tu0qmjfn

We are always told that death knows no age and that we can die anytime, in any situation. Sometimes, we ask “God, why? Why do some people die like that?”. The answer is God knows best what He is doing and that as human beings we cannot comprehend His acts and we should not judge the One who created us.

So, this morning when I prayed Fajr (the first prayer that starts a Muslim’s day) I cried a lot and thanked Allah to have finally made my heart react to death. Alhamdulillah I am not stone hearted and I am able to live bearing in mind that I or my family can leave this world anytime. In the Qur’an, Allah says:

“Wherever you are, death will find you out, even if you are in towers built up strong and high” If some good befalls them, they say, “This is from Allah”; but if evil, they say, “This is from you (O Prophet).” Say: “All things arc from Allah.” But what has come to these people that they fail to understand a single fact?

[Surah An Nissa; verse 78]

It is incorrect to think that we will die being old afflicted with diseases that come with old age. No, we can die being a baby, we can die being a toddler, we can die being a teenager, we can die at work, we can die while doing shopping, we can die when going on vacations, we can die walking, we can die driving a car, we can die biking, we can die swimming, we can die sleeping… and the list does not end here.

Being a Muslim, one should prepare for his/her death and this means that we should not forget to make du’as for the afterlife. Most of the times we ask Allah to make things easy in this current world, now I finally know that it is important to ask things for the life that I will have after my death. Alhamdulillah.

3 thoughts on “My Heart Reacted to Death

Leave a Reply

